World Rugby Award Nominations: Kiwis Outnumbered By English

Publish Date
Tuesday, 8 November 2016, 7:52AM
Beauden Barrett is up for the player of the year award. Photo /

Beauden Barrett is up for the player of the year award. Photo /

All Blacks Beauden Barrett and Dane Coles have been nominated for World Rugby's men's player of the year award.

The Hurricanes duo have a chance to extend New Zealand's dominance of the category to five years running after receiving the nod on their test form this year.

Three England players have been nominated with number eight Billy Vunipola and first five Owen Farrell up alongside breakthrough player of the year nominee Maro Itoje. Ireland vice-captain Jamie Heaslip is the other nominee.

An All Black has won player of the year for the past four years. Last year Dan Carter won player of the year for a record-equalling third time. Richie McCaw also won the award three times.

Black Ferns captain Fiao o Fa amausili is one of three nominees for the women's award.

The winners will be named on Monday morning.

Last week it was announced that the All Blacks, Ardie Savea, Anton Lienert-Brown and coach Steven Hansen are also up for awards.

The All Blacks are up against England and the Fiji sevens team for the team of the year award.

Steve Hansen is nominated for the coach of the year along with England's Eddie Jones and Fiji sevens coach Ben Ryan. Controversially Hansen missed out on coach of the year to Australia's Michael Cheika. Hansen has previously won the award in 2012, 2013 and 2014. Former coach Graham Henry won the award a record five times.

Savea and Lienert-Brown have been nominated for breakthrough player of the year against Maro Itoje of England. All Blacks winger Nehe Milner-Skudder won the award last year.

World Rugby Men's Player of the Year
Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
Dane Coles (New Zealand)
Owen Farrell (England)
Jamie Heaslip (Ireland)
Maro Itoje (England)
Billy Vunipola (England)

World Rugby Women's Player of the Year:
Fiao'o Fa'amausili (New Zealand)
Sarah Hunter (England)
Gaëlle Mignot (France).

World Rugby Women's Sevens Player of the Year
Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
Emily Scarratt (England)
Portia Woodman (New Zealand)

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year
Osea Kolinisau (Fiji)
Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
Virimi Vakatawa (France)

World Rugby Team of the Year 
Fiji Sevens
New Zealand

World Rugby Coach of the Year
Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
Eddie Jones (England)
Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year
Maro Itoje (England)
Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)
Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

Try of the Year
Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v France)
Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland)
TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina)

World Rugby Referee Award
Jérôme Garcès (France)
Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)

Pretty cool getting to see the @chicagobulls v Pacers game tonight. Love being back in #Chicago 🏀🐃

A photo posted by Beauden Barrett (@beaudenbarrett) on Oct 29, 2016 at 8:13pm PDT


- NZ Herald