Facebook is continually tracking your location... Here's how to stop it

Publish Date
Tuesday, 18 July 2017, 11:41AM

Snapchat made headlines this month after it released "Snap Map."

The 'new' feature allows users to see their friends' location on a map, but as some users pointed out, Facebook released a similar tracker back in 2014.

Facebook's feature is called "Nearby Friends", but instead of revealing exactly where you are on a map, it tells you when friends are in the nearby area.

While the feature is only accessible through the mobile app, it's still a massive invasion of privacy.

So here's how to turn it off:

  • Click the menu button.
  • Then explore.
  • Then 'Nearby Friends' (it may already be disabled, in which case no changes are necessary).
  • Swipe the 'Nearby Friends' button at the top to disable the function, or customise it for certain friends groups.