Watch out for this dangerous new Netflix email scam ...

Publish Date
Friday, 28 December 2018, 11:22AM

Police are warning Netflix customers to be extra careful after thousands of users have been targeted in a new email scam.

The sophisticated email is designed to obtain information like credit card details and passwords by telling the recipient that their account is on hold because Netflix is "having some trouble with your current billing information."

The message also asks the recipient to log into their Netflix account to "update your payment details."

If the victim does click on the "update account now" link in the email they are taken to a phishing website set up to look like a real Netflix login page.

The fake login page will collect the victim's email address and Netflix password and then send them to a page that harvests their credit card details including 3 digit security code and expiry date.

"Don't click the links. The links could also be a way to install malware on your computer," police are warning.

READ MORE:
 Here are the secret Netflix codes that unlock tons of hidden movies and shows
• Netflix just revealed an awesome secret feature that literally no one knew existed

Netflix has shared these tips to keep your information safe and secure:

  1. Never enter your login or financial details after following a link in an email or text message. If you're unsure if you're visiting our legitimate Netflix website, type www.netflix.com directly into your web browser.
  2. Never click on any links or open any attachments in an email or text message you received unexpectedly, regardless of the source.
  3. If you suspect an email or text message is not from Netflix, do not reply to it. Forward the message to phishing@netflix.com for further review by the company's security team.

If you receive the email, delete it immediately.