Greece set to reopen to Kiwi tourists this month so we can visit once we're allowed

Photo / Getty

Photo / Getty

Greece wants Kiwis to come and visit when we can.

From mid-June, Greece is set to open its borders to tourists from a select list of countries and New Zealand is among them.

That’s right, the stunning European country - known for its stunning islands, ancient temples and delicious food - will allow visitors from 29 countries including New Zealand, Australia from June 15.

Other countries that will soon be allowed to visit the stunning location Albania, Austria, Northern Macedonia, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Estonia, Japan, Israel, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Oman, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic and Finland.

The list is expected to be expanded from July 1.

This delightful news comes after Japan and the Italian island of Sicily announced that they’re willing to compensate holidays of travellers wishing to visit in the future.

While it may be a while yet until Kiwis are actually able to travel overseas, it’s nice to know that Greece wants us there! We’ll definitely be adding them to our growing list of post-Covid holiday destinations.